Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch

Thread: I bought a "barn find" model IV

Default I bought a "barn find" model IV

Besides sending the Rotax 2 stroke out for O/H, what else should I take a second look at? Not much in the way of inspection plates in the fabric that I can see. But the covering does look and feel good and I see no other issues that I wouldn't expect so see after sitting for so long. I'm new to the Kitfox, but what I've seen so far looks pretty darn good. I need to know if there are any of those "special" spots that need to be inspected before I hand over a check.
    Thanks,
    Jay
    Last edited by beeryboats; 10-07-2013 at 07:24 PM.

Default Re: I bought a "barn find" model IV

Welcome to the site beeryboats,..I'd check all the rubber products/parts panel mounts,..tires for cracks ..if the landing gear has the rubber tubes on the legs up under where the bungee's wrap,..check the the bungee's..then all moving parts,..lube if necessary,..cables,.. tail wheel..see if the break away is functioning..brake pads see if they are good,.grease the wheel bearings,..fuel tanks for any debris/gel..fuel lines to see if they are brittle..fuel valves ,,disconnect pitot tube at ASI and blow out the line,.. look for any signs of critters getting into any part of the tail or wings,.

I'd also pull the seat and check the aileron control linkages,. if they move with a little stiffness I'd spray them with a light oil and then check for slop once they move feely

Hey Jay, welcome to the forum! I'd inspect the wing tanks carefully for any leaks. Look inside to see if there's loose Kreem floating around. What you're looking for is damage to the fiberglass or internal coatings due to ethanol.

Most things other than the engine and structure are easily fixed, but replacing wing tanks is time consuming and expensive.