Kitfox Aircraft Stick and Rudder Stein Air Grove Aircraft TCW Technologies Dynon Avionics AeroLED MGL Avionics Leading Edge Airfoils Desser EarthX Batteries Garmin G3X Touch

Thread: Oldie/Newbie Intro and 582 Muffler Replacement Question

Default Oldie/Newbie Intro and 582 Muffler Replacement Question

Folks:

Greetings. I am a Model IV 1050 builder/owner (450 hours) from the early 90s and was very active in the Forum at the time, but life gets in the way ...

Now I find I need members' help again. Today I blew my 'tailpipe' off the muffler, in flight. Funny, and I had just yanked on it in May during the plane's annual and it was secure. Oh well.

Ok, since the pipe is gone and I do not like the rattling I hear when shaking the muffler I assume some of the baffles are also toast, so I would like to obtain a new muffler/pipe combo rather than try to salvage this one. No reason to be cheap with this.

Now, Skystar is out of business and Kitfox does not appear to be supporting the 2-strokes at all, so where do I obtain a new muffler with the tailpipe properly clocked for exit from the Kitfox cowling? I will try LEAF but thought I would post and see what other members have done who have needed replacements.

I would like to keep the configuration exactly as I have it now as that has worked for 15 years.

I hope I am posting to the right place. I already screwed up once, sorry! So many choices in this forum.

Robert Beck

Thanks in advance, and looking forward to your accumulated wisdom/BS!

Default Re: Oldie/Newbie Intro and 582 Muffler Replacement Question

I have a muffler that came off a Kitfox 3 with 582. Had about 50 hours on it. Not sure what it's worth, I do know what the new ones cost, and these have to be modified to fit a Kitfox. Should be a few around though, guys switching to 912s and such. Jim Chuk